$2.9 million to attract and retain regional TAFE lecturers

Eligible new and existing regional TAFE lecturers in the Pilbara, Kimberley and Kalgoorlie will receive a one-off Temporary Regional Incentive for the 2023 academic year.

The new $2.9 million Temporary Regional Incentive is part of a State Government initiative to help regional TAFE colleges attract and retain staff so they can continue to improve the skills and employability of their communities across all industry areas.

Eligible lecturers in the most difficult to staff locations of Pilbara, Kimberley and Kalgoorlie will receive up to:

  • $15,000 in the Pilbara and Kimberley; and
  • $10,000 in Kalgoorlie.

Eligible lecturers will receive the payment on top of existing incentives for working in regional areas with part of the temporary incentive paid upfront and the remainder paid after 12 months. The Pilbara, Kimberley and Kalgoorlie TAFE campuses have experienced difficulties in recruiting and retaining lecturers to fill vacancies, which have intensified due to the tight labour market. Training provided by TAFEs is vital in creating skilled workers to support local businesses and communities and keeping Western Australia’s economy strong.

Regional TAFEs deliver training closely aligned with their region’s industry and work together with industry to enhance training outcomes for students, who are the State’s future workforce.

“The new Temporary Regional Incentive ensures our regional TAFEs continue to support local students, employers and industries through course availability and access to training," says Training Minister Simone McGurk. “This is a great time for people who would like to use their skills and expertise to educate, encourage and mentor the next generation of specialists in their industry to consider employment opportunities with TAFE. “Our Government continues to roll out new initiatives to support local workforces and provide Western Australians with high quality training and learning opportunities, no matter where they live.”

Read the full media statement here